How many UNESCO World Heritage sites are there?




Here is the option for the question :

  • 458
  • 890
  • 1,121
  • 2,213

The Answer:

And, the answer for the the question is :



There are a total of 1,121 UNESCO sites across the globe as of the month of August 2019, according to the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization. These are dispersed among 167 of the countries that are signatories to the World Heritage Convention. States Parties are another name for these nations. UNESCO preserves and protects these sites, which are rich in cultural and/or natural history — places like Machu Picchu, the Acropolis, and the Amazon. There are a total of 869 cultural sites, 213 natural sites, and 39 sites that combine elements of both natural and cultural history. China and Italy each have 55 UNESCO World Heritage Sites, so if you want to maximize the number of sites you visit, choose either one of these two countries.

How many UNESCO World Heritage sites are there?
UNESCO World Heritage sites are a collection of cultural and natural landmarks considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. As of 2021, there are 1,121 World Heritage sites located in over 160 countries around the world.

The list of World Heritage sites includes a wide variety of cultural and natural landmarks, ranging from ancient archaeological sites and historic cities to breathtaking natural landscapes and wildlife reserves. Each site is chosen for its exceptional cultural or natural significance, and is considered to be a vital and irreplaceable part of the world’s cultural and natural heritage.

The process of selecting a site for World Heritage designation is a rigorous and complex one, involving extensive research and evaluation by experts in a variety of fields. Once a site is designated as a World Heritage site, it is recognized as a global treasure, and efforts are made to protect and preserve it for future generations.

World Heritage sites also play an important role in promoting tourism and economic development in the regions where they are located. The designation of a site as a World Heritage site can lead to increased investment and interest in the area, as well as a boost in tourism revenue and job creation.

However, the designation of a site as a World Heritage site also comes with the responsibility of protecting and preserving it for future generations. This can be a challenging task, particularly in the face of threats such as climate change, overdevelopment, and political instability.

the fact that there are 1,121 UNESCO World Heritage sites is a testament to the power and potential of human creativity, culture, and natural beauty. Whether viewed as a source of inspiration and wonder, a symbol of cultural and environmental vitality, or simply as magnificent and awe-inspiring works of human history and tradition, these sites are sure to continue to captivate and inspire people for generations to come.