What group of islands used to be called the Danish West Indies?

Here is the question :


Here is the option for the question :

  • The Falkland Islands
  • The Gal├ípagos Islands
  • The U.S. Virgin Islands
  • The Bahamas

The Answer:

And, the answer for the the question is :

The U.S. Virgin Islands


[STC00620] The United States Virgin Islands, also known as Saint Thomas, Saint John, and Saint Croix, haven’t always been a part of the United States of America. These islands may be found in the Caribbean. They were first inhabited by indigenous peoples such as the Arawaks and the Caribs, but they were subsequently conquered by the Spanish and the French, and eventually by the Danes, who achieved complete control of the three islands in the 17th century. The islands, which at the time were known as the Danish West Indies, did not prove to be a particularly prosperous colony for Denmark, and the country made multiple attempts to sell them to other imperial powers. In the end, they were successful in finding a buyer in the United States. The first round of sporadic negotiations took place in 1865 and continued intermittently until World War I, when the United States began viewing the islands as a potential strategic defensive asset. On March 31, 1917, they were legally transferred from Denmark to the United States in exchange for $25 million in gold coin. This transaction took place. The United States Virgin Islands continue to this day to commemorate Transfer Day every year.