What South American capital is a UNESCO Heritage Site?

Here is the question :


Here is the option for the question :

  • Lima, Peru
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Quito, Ecuador
  • São Paulo, Brazil

The Answer:

And, the answer for the the question is :

Quito, Ecuador


[STC0064] There are more than one thousand distinct UNESCO World Heritage Sites strewn over the world; however, only a chosen number of cities and towns have been designated as UNESCO Heritage Sites because the entirety of their region is so rich in cultural experiences and landmarks.

One such cultural gem is the city of Quito, which serves as the capital of Ecuador.

On top of Incan ruins, the city was established in the 16th century, and to this day it is considered to be one of South America’s most historically significant locations that has been the least modified.

The art and architecture of the “Baroque School of Quito” may be seen in monasteries and churches located all around the city.

This style draws inspiration from a variety of cultures, including Spanish, Italian, Moorish, Flemish, and indigenous.

In spite of the many earthquakes that have occurred over the course of the past several centuries, the checkerboard pattern of the cobblestone streets has managed to maintain its original configuration since 1734.

Travelers that go to Quito, Ecuador, will have the opportunity to see Latin America at its most best, since the city is filled with parks, craft markets, majestic churches, and spectacular works of art, as well as vistas of the Andes mountains.