Which country was not originally in the EU?

Here is the question :


Here is the option for the question :

  • The U.K.
  • Belgium
  • The Netherlands
  • Italy

The Answer:

And, the answer for the the question is :

The U.K.


[STC002465] Given that the United Kingdom is on the verge of abruptly leaving the European Union, it was probably a safe bet that they were not the ones who conceived of the union in the first place. In point of fact, the United Kingdom did not become a member of the EU until the year 1973. This was many years after the humble beginnings of the EU in 1951 and 1958, when it was first established as the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) and the European Economic Community (EEC), respectively. After World War II, the European Union was established with the intention of putting an end to the regular warfare that occurred between European neighbors and of enhancing “economic, social, and geographical cohesiveness and solidarity.” Belgium, Germany, France, Luxembourg, Italy, and the Netherlands are the union’s founding members. As of April 2019, the EU consists of 28 member nations and has a combined population of around 513 million people. Because all member states of the EU are covered by a single visa, the union also makes it simpler to travel throughout Europe (if required).