Which North American landmark is one of the New 7 Wonders of the World?




Here is the option for the question :

  • Taos Pueblo
  • Chichén Itzá
  • Cahokia Mounds
  • Great Serpent Mound

The Answer:

And, the answer for the the question is :

Chichén Itzá


The first set of the Seven Wonders of the World was selected in the second century BCE, and in 2007 a new set of wonders was selected based on votes from the general population. The only location in North America to make it onto the list was Chichén Itzá, which is located in Mexico. Chichén Itzá was a Mayan city that flourished around the ninth and tenth centuries. The massive El Castillo pyramid is one among the notable monuments that can be found at the site.

Which North American landmark is one of the New 7 Wonders of the World?
Chichén Itzá is a pre-Columbian archaeological site located in the Yucatán Peninsula of Mexico. The site was built by the Maya people between the 9th and 12th centuries CE, and includes a number of impressive architectural and cultural features, including the iconic El Castillo pyramid, the Temple of the Warriors, and the Great Ball Court.

In 2007, Chichén Itzá was named one of the New 7 Wonders of the World, a designation that recognizes the site’s cultural and historical significance, as well as its architectural and artistic achievements. The New 7 Wonders of the World were chosen by a global vote conducted by the New 7 Wonders Foundation, which sought to identify the most significant and awe-inspiring landmarks and structures from around the world.

The El Castillo pyramid, which is also known as the Temple of Kukulcan, is perhaps the most famous and recognizable feature of Chichén Itzá. The pyramid stands over 98 feet tall and is made up of nine levels, each of which contains a series of steps and platforms. The pyramid is aligned to the movements of the sun, and is thought to have been used by the Maya for astronomical observations and rituals.

Other notable features of Chichén Itzá include the Temple of the Warriors, which is decorated with intricate carvings and murals, and the Great Ball Court, which is the largest and best-preserved ball court in Mesoamerica. The ball court was used for a game known as pok-ta-pok, which was played by two teams who attempted to score points by passing a rubber ball through a small ring located on the court’s walls.

Chichén Itzá continues to be a popular tourist destination and a source of fascination for scholars and visitors alike. The site’s impressive architecture, rich cultural history, and stunning natural setting make it a truly awe-inspiring and unforgettable destination. Its designation as one of the New 7 Wonders of the World is a testament to its enduring significance and enduring appeal.